Secure online registration
Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Class
Course Price: $80 to $95 (depending on location)
Course Times: 5 hours
Course Designer: Ian H. Scott, Utah Certified CFP Instructor
WE ARE ALSO OFFERING A DUAL CERTIFICATION CLASS FOR BOTH UTAH AND FLORIDA ON THE SAME DAY. PLEASE VISIT THE FOLLOWING PAGE IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN OBTAINING BOTH PERMITS IN ONE SETTING
You can now carry in 31 states with this permit!!!
Rochester Personal Defense, LLC. has a full staff of certified instructors who are fully qualified to teach you the State of Utah approved and mandated training that covers the legalities, requirements, procedures, and more for the Utah Non- Resident Permit.
Due to the high quality and response to our training approach and professionalism, we have certified over 6000 people for the Utah Permit. This speaks to the fact that people who attend our courses discover that we are the "go to" trainers in NY State for not only this class, but many of our other offerings as well. The best thing is that they also refer their friends, neighbors, colleagues, and even family members to us - because of the high level of professional and relevant (meaning: Real Life, not 'commando') training we provide.
Do your research. There are many other providers out there that either do not give you the correct information, or they flat out exaggerate the details. WE WILL NOT DO THAT!
This permit allows non-residents of Utah to be able to carry a concealed handgun in Utah as well as the other 31 states that will honor this very permit! This is the ideal permit to have if you travel to different states.
This course will be a “one stop shopping” experience for your permit process. Included in the cost of the class will be your passport-style photo, finger prints, and the pre-addressed envelope. All you have to do after you attend the course is put all of the paperwork from the course, a copy of your driver’s license, and a check for $49.00 made out to Utah BCI, in the envelope and send it all off in the mail! The course fee DOES NOT include the processing fee for Utah.
A handgun permit is not required to apply for the Utah Non Resident permit.
The Utah Permit is renewable after five (5) years.
The following states currently honor the Utah Non-resident permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. Current as of 4/3/2013(http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/FAQother.html)
Note: New York State DOES NOT recognize the Utah permit.
If you want to own a handgun or carry one in New York State, you must obtain a New York State permit.
You may have heard about a change in Utah law regarding Non Resident Permits as of May 10, 2011. In effect, Utah is now requiring applicants that live in states that honor the Utah permit obtain their own state's permit before applying for the Utah permit (PA for example). Those of us in New York do not need to worry about the new law.
This is not a live fire class. NO FIREARMS ARE REQUIRED
The doors will open 15-20 minutes before the scheduled start time.
Please do not arrive or try to enter the classroom any earlier.
All of the laws, rules, and guidelines as required by the state of Utah's licensing procedures.
We will not be able to discuss New York State laws during the Utah segment. Time permitting, we will answer questions pertaining to New York's laws and regulations. We do offer training on the laws and regulations, please visit the NY State Permit Pre-License class listing.
|| Required Equipment:|
NOTE: You do not have to download a Utah NR Application. We will provide them at the class.
|| Prerequisites: |
You must not have an arrest or conviction for any of the following:
The State of Utah BCI will disallow you from receiving you permit if you have a conviction within the following time frames. Basically, from the date of conviction, the time period does not begin until all confinement and probation has been completed and fines are paid.
- Class A Misdemeanors……….......... 5 years
Class B Misdemeanors…………….…. 4 years
Other Misdemeanor or Infractions..3 years
DUI offense………………………………... 6 years (including reduced alcohol reckless)
Frequently Asked Questions
Utah Non-Resident Pistol Permit Class
Q. Q: I took the Utah class and just received a letter from Utah that my fingerprints rejected. What do I do?
A. A: One option is to call the RPD, LLC office at 585-406-6758 and make arrangements to attend another permit class to have them redone prior to the beginning of the lecture. However, since time is of the essence, the best thing to do is to have your fingerprints redone by your local Police, Sheriff, or State Police office so you can return them in a timely manner.
Upcoming Class Dates: